The Evian Championship. Anna Nordqvist Wins in a Playoff.

White Dragon Golf

Anna Nordqvist, from Sweden, wins The Evian Championship in a play-off against Brittany Altomare of USA, in France.

The Evian Championship

Anna Nordqvist / getty

Amazingly Anna won The Evian Championship with a bogey at the first play-off hole after she and Brittany finished the three round tournament with -9 under par totals.

Anna, -5 under 66 today, said it had been a very tough tournament because of the weather;

“I did grow up in Sweden, but I’ve been in the US for 10 years now, so I really struggle with the cold, and I couldn’t feel my hands on the last few shots in the playoff.”

“These last couple of weeks it’s been hard, it’s been frustrating and disappointing.”

“I was very excited to tee it up in The Solheim Cup and I was absolutely exhausted after. I came back last week, hit it flawless and missed the cut, so it has just been very testing, but I couldn’t be more proud.”

“I just felt like I wanted to go out there today and focus on what I could do. Winning didn’t really cross my mind until I was having a great couple birdies and eagles there down the stretch.”

Brittany, also -5 under 66 today, drained a long putt on 18 to get into the play-off;

“I really didn’t know that that putt was to keep tied for first. I thought it was just for second.”

“But I was still super nervous over the putt. But it was a cool experience.”

Lydia Ko, New Zealand, -2 under 69, Moriya Jutanugarn, Thailand +1 over 72, and Katherine Kirk, Australia, -1 under 70, all tied in third place at -8 under par.

Lydia missed a short putt for par at the 18th hole to finish one-stroke outside the playoff, after chipping in for Eagle at the 15th;

“It was probably the shot of the year for me, the chip-in on fifteen.”

“It was really cool to play here, and I feel like the support was immense.”

white dragon golfPutting E-Book   White Dragon Golf

 

Leave a Reply

