Portugal Masters. Two Tied at the Top.

White Dragon Golf

There are two players tied at the top of the Portugal Masters leaderboard after the first round at  the Dom Pedro Victoria Golf Course in PortugalJoost Luiten, Holland, and George Coetzee, South Africa, share the honor.

Portugal Masters

Joost Luiten / getty

Joost, bogey free, and George, with one bogey, both carded -7 under par 64 to top the Portugal Masters leaderboard.

Joost was happy to be bogey free;

“I’m very happy, seven under, no bogeys, seven birdies, that’s what you want every day.” 

“I was struggling a little bit with the old driver and a new Taylor Made driver in the bag now, slightly bigger head, slightly more forgiving and especially when it will be windy conditions that will really help.”

“I knew my game wasn’t far off and the good thing about golf is there’s always next week and this week it feels nice and hopefully we can keep it going.”

George started the day with a 59 on his mind;

“I read an article yesterday about 59-watch and after eight holes I was thinking. okay, if I birdie the next one and the next one and the next one.”

“I guess I shot myself in the foot a little bit today but I was quite happy with the way things went.”

“I’ve always played well around this track, posted some good finishes and I really enjoy the golf course, it suits my eye pretty well and luckily today it did that again.”

Tied in second place at -6 under par are six players;  Nino Bertasio, Italy. Grégory Havret, France,  Jason Scrivener,  Australia,  Callum Shinkwin, England and Ashun Wu from China, all with rounds of 65.

The defending Champion here, Padraig Harrington signed for an opening round of -4 under 67, and is in the large group at 16th for the tournament.

white dragon golfGet in the HOLE, E-Book.    White Dragon Golf

Leave a Reply

