Australian Amateur Championships, Smith and Lee Win.

Australian Amateur

Cameron Smith and Minjee Lee.

Cameron Smith and Minjee Lee / Snapeture Sports

Australian Amateur Championships, presented by Audi, were won by Cameron Smith on the mens tournament  and Minjee Lee for the Ladies.

Minjee Lee cruised to a 6&5 victory over Australian based Korean Jenny Lee. Minjee had control for most of this match, and it was a chance for the Royal Fremantle member to go one better than her narrow loss in the final in 2011, to Lydia Ko.

Minjee feels it was a great reward;

“It feels amazing, it’s such an honor to win this tournament. It’s been a long week so it’s a great reward. I felt I could always get back up if I was down. Mum said afterwards she was going to have a heart attack a couple of times, but she’s proud of me. “

With this win Minjee has earned an exemption into next months LPGA event the ISPS Handa Women’s Australian Open at Royal Canberra Golf Club, and she is really looking forward to that challenge;

” I’s an LPGA event so it will have a great field and I’m really looking forward to it.”

Cameron was at one stage  five down to Commonwealth member Geoff Drakeford, but  fought his way back to win his maiden Australian Amateur title with a 3&2 victory.

Cameron said he was gobsmacked;

” I’m gobsmacked, I can’t even believe I came back from that. I played some good shots and put him under pressure and holed some putts. I thought if I could him get down the last hole I was in with a shot,  but turns out I got it done before that which was quite nice. Mum was pretty stoked when I told her, she was just yelling and couldn’t get a word out. It’s definitely a good start to 2013 and hopefully this form can carry through to the next few tournaments.”


Kiwi Lydia Ko wins Australian Amateur at 14

World amateur No 1 Lydia Ko has won the Australian amateur title and sent the record keepers to scan their books. She is believed to be the youngest winner in the 118 year history of the event, Golf Australia records do not have an indication of the ages of the champions of the early years of the Australian women’s amateur.

Lydia Ko tees off. Photo / Getty Images

 Photo / Getty Image

Lydia  defeated Victorian Breanna Elliott 4 and 3 at the Woodlands Golf Club in Melbourne today. In doing so she becomes the youngest winner of the trophy that dates back to 1894 and she follows in the footsteps of Kiwi golfers Guy Williams (1920), Oliver Kay (1933, 1936) and Jan Higgins (1989). Ko was beaming after her win;

“I am really proud of myself, I won the Australian stroke play title last year and finished second in qualifying, but this is so much better. There has been a lot of pressure all week and I have been really happy with how I have played, and to come through to the end and win is amazing.”

“To win another national title is a really amazing feeling.”