Luke Guthrie shares the lead at the BMW Masters with Spain’s Rafa Cabrera-Bello at the end of day 3.
Rafael Cabrera-Bello/ Getty
Luke and Rafa are tied at -8 under par for the tournament at Lake Malaren Golf Club in Shanghai. Luke struggled today, an even par round of 72 let the field catch up to his blistering start to this competition, his four shot lead disappearing.
He was philosophical about his position;
“At the beginning the week, if I was tied going into the fourth round tied for the lead, I’d have taken it. As today went it was a little frustrating. When I made a couple birdies, I seemed to step on my own foot a few times. Like at 18, I didn’t hit my greatest shot obviously, but wish I didn’t have to chip it on the green to get it close. Overall I was hitting it well, putting well, and just let a few shots get away toward the end and that’s never fun really. I’m tied for the lead going into tomorrow and I’m excited.”
Rafa said he was happy, and will enjoy the final round tomorrow;
” Really happy to keep playing good and happy, also, to put a good round together and be in contention tomorrow. I started with two birdies today, which was good. It gave me confidence straightaway, and then I just stayed calm, one shot at a time, and today it worked. I’m happy, I’m proud, I’m confident and I’m enjoying the tournament so far, so hopefully tomorrow I can keep those feelings and take them on to the golf course with me, go out there, play my best and enjoy.”
Gonzalo Fernandez-Castaño is in third place at -7 under par, just one shot off the lead, while Gregory Bourdy is another shot back in fourth pace.
Simon Dyson’s chances of victory disappeared when he was disqualified for signing for an incorrect score in the second round. European Tour Chief Referee John Paramor said in a statement:;
“Simon Dyson has been disqualified from the BMW Masters presented by SRE Group under the rules of golf (6-6d). Simon was found to have breached rule 16-1a, which states that a player must not touch his line of putt.”
” When the footage was reviewed, Simon was seen to touch the line of his second putt after marking and lifting his ball on the green. He subsequently failed to add a two-shot penalty to his score when signing his card, and as a result has now been disqualified. He was bitterly disappointed. He had no way of explaining why or how he came to do what he did. He had no recollection of it until I showed him and even then he said ‘I can’t even remember doing it.’ It’s a very sad thing and unfortunately his event is over.”
I have not seen the video, but if you clear your line of putt of leaves or debris are you not then actually touching your line of putt in the act of doing that.?