Memorial Tournament @ Muirfield Village, Wet, Windy and Rain Delayed. Sabbatini Leads.

Rory Sabbatini leads the Memorial Tournament at Muirfield Village after a wet, windy and rain delayed second round. Rory leads by one shot from Spencer Levin, Scott Stallings and an inform Tiger Woods. Sabbatini  had another round of 69 today, which equates to -6 under par for the tournament.

The weather made it  tough for everyone on a day that began with a two-hour rain delay in the morning. The rain softened the course, but the wind featured gusts strong enough to make it  difficult to attack the pins. It definitely showed in the scores.

Rory Sabbatini said he had been struggling with his golf swing of late;

” Obviously it’s definitely been a challenge over the past couple months. Rick and I have been doing a lot of work to try and improve my swing overall and my consistency and that. It’s been frustrating, the fact that for a couple weeks now, it’s definitely felt like things have been there but just really haven’t been putting the numbers up. Ultimately golf is a game of numbers, so it doesn’t matter how you hit it, it’s how you score. So in that sense it’s been frustrating, and it’s great to finally see a little bit of reward for the work that we’ve put in.  You know, it’s just kind of funny; golf is such a game of ;  it’s just such a mental game in general, and it is a game of confidence, and I have been struggling. I was down on myself and I was down on my game. Colonial I finally; on Sunday I was playing awfully and managed to turn things around over the last eight holes, and I think that kind of maybe flicked a switch on for me and kind of reminded me of what I can do. So coming into this week, I was definitely a little more adamant and a little more positive about my game, and it’s just;  it’s all so fortuitous. This is a golf course I’ve always felt comfortable on, it kind of fits my eye, and I enjoy playing here.”

Tiger was also very happy with his round in the difficult conditions;

” I hit the ball well all day. It was a day that I needed to. The wind was blowing out there, was swirling in those trees, and it was just a tough day. Granted, the greens were softer, but still, the wind was a little bit of a test. With these pin locations today, some were pretty hard. Only a few were accessible. But I figured anything under par was going to be a good score, and I was able to post something in the 60s.

Woods lurking

Tiger Woods Chris Condon/PGA TOUR

World number one Luke Donald had a disappointing round of +1 over par, 73 and is hanging in there at even par for the tournament, but is still not able to start a tournament well. He said he is only five shots back and is still hopeful of making his presence felt.

The list of notables missing the cut begin with a totally out of touch world number 2 Rory McIlroy, he is joined by; Bubba Watson, Keegan Bradely, Kevin Na, Webb Simpson, Louis Oosthuizen and Mike Weir.

Weekend off

A dejected Rory McIlroy Lyons/Getty Images

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.