Kaymer Crowned King Of the U.S. Open.

dragon logo darkUS open logo

Martin Kaymer has been crowned King of the U.S.Open at Pinehurst #2.

King of Pinehurst Martin Kaymer / Getty Images

Magical Martin has now won THE PLAYERS and U.S. Open, the first man ever to won these two titles in a season. Martin carded a last round -1 under par 69 to win the U.S. Open by an amazing eight shots over his nearest rival with a tournament total of -9 under par.  He has now joined Rory McIlroy as the only players under age 35 with two or more majors.

Martin says  he is now a more complete player than the man who became No. 1 in the world ranking early in 2011, and did not think about it too much come Sunday;

“And I’m only 29 years old, so I hope I have a few years ahead of me, it was too much, it was very difficult to handle everything and to play good golf.”

“It’s quite nice proof, even though I don’t feel like I need to prove a lot to people. But it’s quite satisfying to have two under your belt.”

“To not think too much about that trophy, to not think too much about sitting here now, about what you’re going to say, about how you might celebrate on 18. It goes through your head. Not many talk about it, but it is what it is. We are humans; we are not robots.”

Tied in second pace at -1 under par for the tournament were two players, Erik Compton and Rickie Fowler, eight shots off the lead but happy;

Erik made three bogeys in a five-hole stretch on the back nine;

“I don’t think anybody would have ever thought I would do that, not even myself. So you can’t ever write yourself off; you just can’t give up.”

“The crowd was so great. On every hole, from the tee box to the putting green, people were cheering for me and I definitely felt the love and the support from the crowd. Seemed like people really got around my story. And for me to be here and to do this at such a high level is just as good of a feeling as winning a golf tournament. So it’s just a great feeling and I can’t wait to get back into another major.”

Rickie finished in the top five at this year’s Masters, confirming that his work with Butch Harmon is headed in the right direction;

“The more experience you can get in the final groups, and especially in majors and in contention at majors, it definitely helps out for down the road.”

Personally I did not agree with the preparation of the course, I am sure Donald Ross would not like his masterpiece course to appear like an American revolution battle field. Bubba Watson likened it to just weeds. It just did not look like a golf course. If this is the U.S.G.A’s way of enticing new people to take up golf, I think they have made a mistake.

 

5 thoughts on “Kaymer Crowned King Of the U.S. Open.

  1. It is about time Rickie Fowler found the a coach that will help his game. Two to 5s in the Majors is great. Now he needs to win a couple regular tournaments to be taken seriously. Martin Kaymer was a machine….nice to see.

    Cheers
    Jim

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.