Shriners Hospitals for Children Open.

Webb Simpson has a four shot lead going into the final round of the Shriners Hospitals for Children Open in Las Vegas.

Webb Simpson during the third round of the Shriners Hospitals for Children Open.

Webb Simpson/ A/P

Webb shot a -4 under par third round of 67 to take control of the Shriners Hospitals for Children Open at TPC Summerlin with tournament score of -19 under par.

He actually said he was not comfortable with his lead;

“This is a golf course where guys can shoot, as we’ve seen this week, 8, 9, 10, 11 under, so, I have to go out with a mindset of attacking and trying to make birdies. I think the key tomorrow is to, No. 1, stay patient again in case I do get off to another slow start. The conditions were perfect, I knew guys were shooting low numbers. I felt like I was playing good enough. I just was shooting pretty bad, parred 9, dropped the shot at 11. So, it was frustrating. But my caddie just told me to stay patient and let the birdies come. And that’s what happened. I made some putts coming in.”

Chesson Hadley is on his own in second place at -15 under par, Hadley was stoked with his birdie on 15 and then a hole-out for an Eagle on the par-5,  16th hole;

” They waved us up on 15 and I just roasted a driver up there, I think it hit perfectly into the hill and dribbled up there to about 10 feet. I hit a good putt. It was just a little to the left, so it was a nice tap-in birdie. So that was good. Then I drove it right on 16, and I laid up to the perfect number. And my first thought when I hit it was, `Please go a little.’ Then I saw it take the first bounce and it looked like it just one hopped right in the bottom of the stick. That was huge.”

Chesson and Webb  are both from Raleigh, N.C. so Chesson is looking forward to playing with Webb tomorrow in the final round;

“Webb and I grew up playing together, he’s always been more successful earlier than I have been. And you know, he’s been such a good role model and just influence for the game as far as his faith is concerned. I’m just looking forward to playing with him tomorrow.”

Third place belongs to Jeff Overton, his -3 under par 68 giving him a tournament total of -14 under par, Jason Bohn is in contention at -13 under par, and tied in fifth at -12 under par is Sean O’Hair.

Sean admitted to going through a humbling period in his golf career;

“It was a tough time this year, especially late, because I was realizing I was going to lose my card. I had to get my mind right going into those Web.com Tour events. I knew I had a good opportunity to get my card back, but I had to be in the right spot mentally. I almost felt like I had an identity crisis this year. I was going out on the golf course and trying this and trying that. I didn’t know who I was as a player.”

 “I was disappointed going into those events { Web.com} and I think if I kept that attitude, I wouldn’t have gotten my card back. I’m seeing some light at the end of the tunnel, I really feel like I might be playing some of the best golf life right now. I really feel good.”

Keep up the good work Sean.

 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.